Road Rules Part 1: Get Out of the Left Lane/Just Fucking Go

Disclaimer: I am a Jersey girl, so I have a lot of road rage. I will also defend the jughandle until my last breath.

In countries that drive on the right side of the road, the left lane is for passing. It’s also known as the “fast lane.” USE IT THAT WAY!! The left lane is not for jolly jaunts admiring the scenery. That sounds like a lovely afternoon excursion, but not in front of me in the left lane. Whether I am alone, have passengers, or even am a passenger myself, in these situations, I am literally screaming “JUST FUCKING GO/MOVE THE FUCK OVER/EXPLETIVE EXPLETIVE EXPLETIVE!!” (much to the horror of anyone who can hear me). My favorite is when I am yelling and both my window and the window of the offending car are down. I revel in awkward and am not ashamed of my behavior. THEY should be ashamed, which I am happy to point out to them.

If you’d like to drive slower than I am going (I think it’s ridiculous, but I guess that’s your prerogative), I implore you to drive in the right lane. All drivers should use the lane most to the right that you’re able to go at your preferred speed.

Along the same lines, here is my defense of the Jersey jughandle: As I’ve stated in no uncertain terms, the left lane is the fast lane. People making turns slow down traffic. Therefore, especially in a state as dense as NJ, all turns should be made from the right lane, the slow lane.

In short, get out of my way.

Leave a Reply

